Skip to content

Going Out

Egg carton from a recent egg pick up

It is gorgeous today here in Portland. We’ve seen remarkably little of this kind of weather this spring and it’s all I can do to not play hooky and go sit in a park with a book. And as I was sorting through the egg cartons that need to be returned to the place where I pick up eggs every week I found the one pictured above. It certainly sums up my feeling today. . .

And one more photo from this morning, from a neighbors’ front yard. There are still plenty of edible bits on these leggy shoots of kale and arugula and I’ve gotten in the habit of walking down the street mid-morning to pick the greens for my lunch.

Tuscan kale and arugula going to seed.

And now I will go outside, not to a park with a book but still outside!

Happy Spring, once again!

P.S. I promise to post two recipes next week to make up for today’s lack of any.

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. AC #

    Love the quote and love the urban foraging. You might enjoy reading this if you didn’t hear it the other day….

    http://www.npr.org/2011/04/18/135412640/foraging-the-weeds-for-wild-healthy-greens

    April 19, 2011
  2. Thank you for the link. I did not hear it. I love this stuff too and this morning KATU news actually filmed John Kallas: http://www.wildfoodadventures.com/
    our local Portland Wild Food foraging expert preparing some wild greens/weeds in my kitchen.

    April 19, 2011
  3. Mary Lane #

    I bet those kale plants are where you got the “kale raab” of a few weeks ago. Tom keeps bringing in brussels sprouts raab.

    April 19, 2011
  4. Actually those were my own but I’ve run out;)!

    April 19, 2011
  5. Elizabeth #

    Hi…I don’t “get” the kale and arugula…is it still growing from last summer? Does it grow all winter? Doesn’t it die over the winter? Is it fresh from this spring and already going to seed??? We just had six inches of snow.

    April 19, 2011
    • In our climate we often plant those greens in the fall and we sometimes can harvest all winter but growth slows down a lot. Now with the slightly warmer days they speed up again and then go to seed. My Tuscan kale withstood a couple of really heavy (for us- 14 Degrees F) frosts and then produced quite a bit again a month or so later. They are hearty varieties but we also have a pretty mild climate.

      April 19, 2011
  6. Gail #

    Didn’t you also previously admit to lifting herbs from your neighbors, too? I don’t know about you, Deumling…

    April 20, 2011
    • Ah Gail, you are right but I actually have permission for this one, and an open invitation on the herbs as well. I have been known to poach other people’s neglected parsley and rosemary though!

      April 20, 2011
  7. Mommy #

    Aren’t you the best. Could never have said it as well myself.
    M

    April 20, 2011
  8. Hmm… that arugula looks familiar. I might have to eat some myself. Meanwhile, keep foraging! And if you could take some of those bay leaves sticking into the left part of the picture, that would help us clean up our act.

    April 21, 2011
  9. Tina #

    Katherine, thanks for John Muir and Happy Easter as well…looking forward to the next delicious receipe

    April 25, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Salads and Beans | Cook With What You Have

Leave a Reply

