Skip to content

Green Curry Summer Squash Soup

A lovely summery soup of squash, new potatoes, coconut milk and basil over rice.

I’ve had a good summer squash recipe repertoire for quite a while. But this year I’m expanding it even more. This season I am  creating customized recipe packets for a local CSA farm here in the Portland area every week. The farmer tells me what will be in the share on Saturday and by Sunday night I submit a comprehensive packet of recipes and tips for that week’s produce. Zucchini and all manner of summer squash are a mainstay in the share this time of year and I’ve enjoyed trying some new recipes for these tender, sweet, prolific veggies.

New potatoes and summer squash.

This dish was inspired by the ever clever and creative Heidi Swanson from her new book Super Natural Every Day. I’ve changed a bunch of things: I omitted the tofu croutons since I rarely have tofu on  hand. I served it on rice to give it heft and make it a one-dish meal. I used green instead of red curry paste, onions instead of shallots and added lots of basil.

This recipe uses a good number of summer squash so it’s a great way to work through the stash many of us find ourselves with right now. It’s great warmed up the next day for lunch either eaten as soup or over rice. I can imagine this being delicious with other veggies as well as the season changes so experiment as you see fit. It would also be delicious with some chicken or prawns if you want to dress it up a bit and make it heartier.

And please let me know if you have any favorite summer squash/zucchini recipes. I know they’re going to keep showing up for a few more weeks and I always need more ideas.

Summer squash, potatoes, onions and garlic sweating in green curry paste and some coconut milk.

Green Curry Summer Squash Soup

–adapted from Super Natural Everyday by Heidi Swanson

4-5 medium zucchini or other summer squash like yellow crookneck or patty pan, sliced into 1/2 inch slices

1/2 a medium onions (sweet or regular yellow onion), thinly sliced

4-5 small potatoes (new potatoes if possible), scrubbed and cut into small dice

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 – 2 heaping teaspoons green curry paste (I use the Mae Ploy brand)

1 can full fat coconut milk

2 cups veggie bouillon broth (or other veggie or chicken stock)

1/4 cup Thai basil or regular basil leaves, packed and roughly chopped (saving a bit for garnish)

salt

squeeze of lime juice to taste (optional)

Cooked white or brown, long grain rice

Put a large soup pot on medium high heat. Add about 3-4 tablespoons of the solid part of the coconut milk that makes up about the top fourth of the can, to the hot pan. Add the 1-2 teaspoons (depending on how much heat you want) of green curry paste and mash it up with the back of a spoon and blend it into the coconut milk. Fry this mixture for a couple of minutes until it becomes fragrant.

Add the sliced onion and fry for a few minutes until it softens. Add the squash and potatoes, several generous pinches of salt and cook, stirring often for 3-4 minutes. Then add the garlic, the remainder of the coconut milk and the broth. Bring to a boil, then turn down and simmer for about 10 minutes until the vegetables are tender. Add most of the basil (reserving some for a garnish) and cook for another minute or two. Adjust seasoning and add a squeeze of lime juice, if using.

Serve hot over rice and garnished with more basil.

P.S. Check out my guest post on Culinate.com about Slow Food’s $5 Challenge and join in the fun and conversation and cooking.

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. We’re gonna try this tonight after farm pickup

    August 23, 2011
  2. Carol Boutard #

    What a blessing of a soup! I have not seen anything I so wanted to make in a long time. Maybe this is why “zucchini” is a swear word in our house? The mix of textures, not just the curry and coconut milk, will be great.

    August 23, 2011
    • Thanks Carol! Hope it’s to your (and your zucchini loathing husband’s) liking!

      August 23, 2011
  3. Can’t wait to try this – a new use for zucchini! We love curries, but I’ve never used the green type – how does it taste compared to the red curry paste?

    August 24, 2011
    • I love green curry and red but tend to have the pre-made green one on hand more often. The red one uses different kinds of chilies which accounts for the color and sometimes more heat but they both tend to be spicy. Otherwise they have very similar ingredients. Oh and green curry tends to have lots of Kaffir Lime leaves in it which i’m not sure the typically does. Hope you like the soup.

      August 24, 2011
  4. Jacki Thau #

    I think this is a brilliant way to use squash, potatoes and summer bounty, whether it be from a CSA or just an over abundance of goodies picked up at the Farmers Market, which happens to me often. I do have an occasional dollop of curry paste in the fridge, and coconut milk is a staple in my pantry. Plenty of stock with all the leftover trimmings from getting “caught up in the rapture of the Farmers Market”, as my friends tease me. Thanks and will be making this recipe soon.

    August 29, 2011
  5. I have all these ingredients so I’m making it tonight! now if you can give me something to do with all the tomatoes besides more tomato sauce to freeze!

    August 29, 2011
    • Alright, I’ll try to do a tomato post this week!

      August 29, 2011
      • Thanks! If you’re too late, then what I’m doing today will be in vain. I have some collards that are ready to be rmvoeed (you can see them in the background in the second photo), and will be replacing them with some pole beans. I have been working on different ideas for supporting plants, and I’ll be testing out one idea with them. I have a 16 cattle panel that I have formed into something that will (hopefully) be structurally sound and work to support the beans. I was originally looking for a way to support tomatoes, but I’m not sure if this design will help there. I’ll do a post on this idea later on after I get it set up.On the other hand One thing that I’ve learned is that the earlier you can get things started, the better. In the North, they need to get an early start due to a short growing season. Down here in The South, we need to get the gardening done before the really hot weather comes and the bug population reaches its peak. I’ll do a post later in the summer on really hot weather crops there are only a few plants that can successfully be grown through the summer in The South. Okra and New Zealand Spinach are two that come to mind.

        May 31, 2012
  6. Elizabeth #

    Missed this post earlier. The recipe looks good. I have some smaller zucchini and squash at the moment that I want to use soon. (I have several multipounders on the counter that last night I used to weigh down the tofu for marinating). Normally I make no soups or stews at all in the summer but I think this will be an exception. Children love curry and rice.

    You sound like you have an amazingly fun job, by the way.

    August 30, 2011
    • I’m similar with soups/stews in the summer but this is a winner. And yes, I do have a fun job!

      August 30, 2011
  7. This was a big hit at our house!!

    September 5, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Happy Holidays! What’s coming in this week’s bag?

Leave a Reply

